It is my great pleasure to welcome you to the Faculty of Science, University of Lagos, the largest Faculty in the University. The Faculty is known for excellence and pace-setting in the areas of scientific research, teaching and community development. We provide the platform for our promising graduates to be well equipped with sufficient knowledge to meet the manpower demand in the society and at the same time imbibe the culture of self-employment and job creation.

The Faculty of Science was first established in the University in October, 1964 and it consisted of two schools: namely the School of Biological Sciences and School of Mathematical and Physical Science. The two Schools along with then Institute of Computer Science were finally merged in October, 1973 to re-constitute the present Faculty of Science.

Faculty of Science is made up of eleven (11) departments namely: Biochemistry, Botany, Cell Biology and Genetics, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geosciences, Marine Biology,Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics and Zoology. The Faculty has developed programmes to encourage the advancement in learning and research in Science.The Faculty has 25 undergraduates programmes.

The Faculty is made up of The Board of Studies a University Statutory body which has a direct control over the undergraduate results in the faculty. The Dean is the Chairman and every teacher/lecturer is a member of the Board.

The Faculty takes pride in the fact that it has produced and still producing high-quality graduates who are relevant today in industries, research institutes, academia, governmental agencies and above all, job creators.


Professor A.A Adekunle, FLS

Professor A.A Adekunle, FLS


Our Vision

To be the pace setting Faculty of Science in Nigeria and beyond in producing excellent graduates in research, learning and character.

Our Mission

To provide the platform of high academic standard in both research and learning in Science.